2012 My Best Year Ever

Good Morning!  It is 4:58 am and I am wide awake so I thought I would share a few thoughts about the NEW YEAR.  2011 has been a real adventure for me and my family.  The year started out working in Kansas City selling yellow pages, again.  I did not like K.C. and I was not making any money, so I came home.  I then started looking for a job locally and could not find work.  I have a home based business that we did very little with, so I went after it, hard.  Harvest Lane Cottage and Bakery  and The Gathering Place

We got a good start and started booking a few events and selling baked good every week.  I was making plans and getting the ball rolling, when the storm hit.  MAY 22, 2011 JOPLIN, MISSOURI F-5 TORNADO.

It was a Sunday Night and weird weather.  It started raining, then a little hail, and then silence.  Silence until the thunder started, but it did not stop.  I had never heard thunder that continued, so I checked the weather online.  I live in Carthage, Mo about 10 minutes from Joplin, Mo and we did not hear sirens or have any warning but the weather channel said Tornado on the ground in Joplin, Mo.  I gathered all the family and we headed for the basement.  We turned the radio on and listend for the next 2 hours in amazment and horror as we listened to them report the tragedy and the devistation.  This was the beginning of our storm!

The Tuesday after the storm I went to Joplin to find a friend and make sure he was OK and they were.  Storm damage but all safe.  I went to help at one of the local churches and it was total CHAOS.  I went back on Wednesday and then on Thursday I stopped by to see a friend, Pastor Dan at Joplin Family Worship Center.  I asked Pastor Dan what if he was OK and what he needed help with.  Needless to say I had 5 out of town volunteers staying at my house that night.  This began our journey as volunteer housing hosts and my new job as the Community Liaison for Joplin Family Worship Center.

It has been a long 7 months, but the most rewarding and fullfilling things I have ever done.  I would never have imagined the I would be working in FT ministry, but here I am.  In 7 months I now am the Community Liaison and the Operation director of our Resource Center.  We have served over 8000 families totalling over 25,000 people with supplies.  We have hosted over 11,000 volunteers coming from over 40 states.  We have served over 45,000 meals.  We have done over 600 home projects.  And we still are serving 6 days a week with 34 FT employees.

2012 has many plans including a new distribution/volunteer housing facility and continuing to train and prepare to PAY IT FORWARD and assist in disasters nationwide.

God is good and it took a Tornado to change my life, but it has all been part of the plan and God has shown me my purpose in life.  Everything I have done in life up to this point, God has been preparing me for such a time as this.  When we submit to God and let him control our future, you better fasten your seat belt and hold on.  I did not say it would be easy, but it has been a real blessing.

So, I hope it doesn’t take  a F-5 Tornado to change your life, but planning and submitting to God’s plan for your life can make your 2012 your best year ever.

About Lowell Lane

Food is my passion; I love to grow it, cook it, eat it, and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012 My Best Year Ever

  1. Laura Lane says:

    I wondered where 2011 went. ~grin~ I’m glad we’re doing it as a family.

    Love you!
    Laura

  2. The raod has been long, hard, challenging, and stressful. But…… God!!! He has made this last year a year to remember, to cherish, and to thank the Lord for. Thank God from whom all blessings flow!!
    Emily

Leave a Reply

