Live to Eat vs. Eat to Live

basket-of-vegetables.jpg

2013 has been a New Journey in my life.

I have always enjoyed cooking, always looking for new recipes, new techniques, and LOVED to eat.  LIVE TO EAT.

After 47 years of living this way it is now time to EAT TO LIVE!

In November 2012, I attended a class presented by a man from Oklahoma City who spoke about his plant-based lifestyle.  He had lost over 70 lbs and reversed disease in his body by eating a plant-based diet and exercising.  The number one thing that came from that meeting was this statement: “Our nutritional knowledge is inconsistant with our lifestyle”  After all the years of cooking, researching, and diets, I knew what I needed to do to lose weight and live a more healthy lifestyle, but I just didn’t do it.

Coming into the new year, our pastor encouraged the congregation to fast or consecrate for the new year.  Laura and I decided we would start the new year out and do that.  I started doing a lot of research and reviewing my notes from that class and checking out some of the books and authors that were recommended.

1. Eat to Live

2.  The China Study

So, after lots of research and prayer, we decided to go along the lines of a Daniel Fast for the month of January.  No meat, no dairy, no white sugar or flour, nothing processed, and nothing but water or fresh squeezed juice.

9780310331179

This is a picture of me and the family in November 2012, the beginning of this journey.

day with grandpa lane

Here is a picture of me today, 30 lbs lighter and feeling GREAT!

lowell jan 2013

After 21 days on the Daniel Fast, we are continuing these principles.  We have had meat several times, gone out on our dates and splurged a few times, but mainly we have stuck to the program.

Here is our general plan.

Breakfast – oatmeal is good and easy, add some fruit and a little rice milk and sprinkle with ground flaxseed.  Cut up fruit or  smoothies are also a good fast option.

Lunch is usually a salad and fruit.  For some really yummy ideas on salads see Laura’s blog.  She has been posting salads every day for the last month.

Dinner we always start with a salad, add cooked vegetables, and have been experimenting with lots of different soups and other dishes.

We also incorporate beans, grains, and nuts. We are not giving up meat completely, but using very limited amounts.

EATING OUT!

Here is something I had the other day that was AWESOME!

020513122035

I decided to visit my favorite new restaurant, Mohaska Farmhouse.    This is the vegetable sandwich.  It has homemade hummus on the bread then they put cucumbers, peppers, sprouts, spinach, olives, and I don’t remember what else.  They served it with a freshly made pico de gallo and blue corn tortilla chips.   MMMMMM!  Good, and totally acceptable to my eating plan.

Hummus can be used instead of mayo, a dip for vegetables, in salad dressings, as an appetizer with chips or crackers, and is used in casseroles.

I had to try making it, so here is how it went.

020513230128

In a blender, add all ingredients and then chill in refrigerator for at least 1 hour or overnight.

1 15 oz can of Garbanzo beans  (chick peas)  drained and rinsed

1/4 cup tahini  (almost like natural peanut butter but made from sesame seeds)

1/4 cup water

2 T extra-virgin olive oil

2 T fresh lemon juice

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup fresh parsley, packed

1/2 t salt

1/4 t ground cumin

The results ~

020513230632 Not the prettiest, but it is really is good!

So, my new mission is to EAT TO LIVE.

My goal is to get to a healthy weight, and by eating this way to increase my longevity and decrease my chances of disease.

I look forward to sharing with you new recipe successes, failures, and my progress.  Stay tuned……

Be Blessed!

About Lowell Lane

Food is my passion; I love to grow it, cook it, eat it, and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Health, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

