Preparing for starting seeds indoors

images

I am soooooo excited about starting the garden.

I have been planning for weeks and last week I purchased seeds and supplies I need to get started.

One of my issues with starting seeds is WHERE?  I don’t have a greenhouse, but I looked into building one, too complicated.

IMG_7456

I thought about setting up an area in our basement, but that won’t work.

I looked into Aquaponics, but just too costly.

Teddy Roosevelt once said, “Do what you can with what you got where you are.”

I started looking around the house, garage, garden shed, and outside to see what I had, and here is what I came up with.

021613162945

We have a back porch with windows on the south side of the house which will provide great natural light. Next, I used 2 old saw-horses, 2×4’s that were in our burn pile, old windows I had for a craft project, and I had a shop light in the basement and one in my workshop.

I had to have an outlet installed, purchase grow bulbs, chain and hooks to hang the lights, and I am using an existing heater.  I think this will work great and I will be able to start all my seeds indoors.

I planted my first seeds on Saturday.  Pansies are actually supposed to be planted in January, but I am just late, but it is still early enough it will be ok.

Pansies are Laura’s favorites and Black Eyed Susan’s are Amy’s favorites.

021713135010

These have to sit in a warm place out of direct sunlight till they seeds pop up, then I can transfer to the growing table.

I have developed a calendar for starting my seeds and when they have to be transplanted into the garden.  I made a list of all the plants I wanted and then labeled the seed packets by planting dates and whether they are to be planted indoors or directly in the garden.

For this next week, I will plant brocoli, cauliflower, cabbage, brussel sprouts, lettuce, spinach, kale, and Laura’s other favorite, Petunias.

021713232847

Join me each week as I will be posting what is next on the growing calendar and the progress I am making, so stay tuned…

Blessings and may God bless your gardening!

About Lowell Lane

Food is my passion; I love to grow it, cook it, eat it, and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

