Tornado Warning ~ Freeze warning ~ garden?

Last night was a long night. Tornado watch then at 1:15 lightning sounding like a bomb woke me up and I found out we were in Tornado Warning. After 2 hours and a trip to the basement, we finally got back to sleep. Then this morning I found out the basement laundry room was flooded, I am so tired of this weather. Either it is spring or winter! Yesterday we had almost 80 degrees, tonight it is supposed to be 30.

sum08_row_cover_frost_protectionThis is the first year I have tried doing almost all my vegetables from seed. They are growing and doing well, but I have put too much time, effort, and money into them to let them be hit by frost. Yesterday I was talking to a Master Gardener friend and I felt good because she agreed with me about not putting out my brocolli, brussel sprouts, cauliflower, and kale yet. She is planning on waiting at least another 1-2 weeks till we are sure the frost threat is over. So, my word of advice is if you are not sure about the threat of frost in your area, wait! As shown above I am going to put a frost cover over my cabbage and celery to help protect them. If you have never used a frost cover, they are great.  In my area I can pick them up at Home Depot.  They are a fine mesh type material and they will protect your plants down to 29 degrees farenheit.  I use them to protect my cabbage, brocolli, brussel sprouts, and lettuce from the beginning of planting in garden to protect against bugs, it is great for that.

I know they say that it is spring, but I want the weather to catch up!

Happy planting!

Blessings!

About Lowell Lane

Food is my passion; I love to grow it, cook it, eat it, and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

