Day 1 – Vacation 2013

vacationAs of Monday 8-12-13, I am officially on vacation.  I have not had a two week vacation since 1987 when I worked at a bank, and they required you to be out of the bank for two weeks.

Pastor Daniel Wermuth II, taught a lesson on SELAH, a time of not only refreshing but renewing and preparing for the future.  I want to take this time to get away from it all and relax, but also prepare for the next path of this journey.   This last two years and two months have been very hard on me.  Not only the 10-15 hour day, but family time has suffered, and taking care of myself has suffered.   I want a chance to get all this stuff back in order and balance and prepare for the future journey.

I have made list, and I have checked them more than twice.   I have lots of things I would like to do, but I know I need to pick and choose and prioritize.

FRIDAY – CRASH

Michael, my youngest son, and Amy, my little girl, decided to go ride their bikes in the neighborhood behind our place called Deer Run.  It is very hilly and a nice quiet ride, so I dropped them off at the top of the hill, and then headed to Mt. Vernon for a training class.  I got on I-44, and when I got to the Sarcoxie exit, Emily called and said Michael had hit a mailbox with his bike, and that he hit his head, and needed to go to the hospital.  I turned the car around and headed back at over 80 miles per hour with my emergency flashers on.  I pictured him laying in a ditch with a head injury or something.  I arrived to see the sheriff car, an ambulance, four emergency workers, the owner of the mailbox, Amy, and then Michael still laying in the ditch. The paramedics had checked him out, but he was complaining of chest pains because the impact was in his chest and leg.  I decided to take him to the E.R. to make sure nothing was broken.  First they did a chest x-ray and all was fine. The doctor examined him, and his spleen/kidney area was very tender, so they decided to do a CT scan, and make sure there was no internal injuries.

PRAISE THE LORD, NO BROKEN BONES OR INTERNAL INJURIES.

Michael E.R.This was not my way of starting out my vacation, but I am glad it ended the way it did.

#1 – Get the garden in order.  On Saturday, I was able to get out and clean up the garden area and do some long needed weeding and cleaning up.

Here is what is left of my garden.

081013144145The deer ate all my tomatoes, so I have some cabbage plants, 2 cayenne peppers, a rosemary plant, basil, and some celery.

Now, in Amy’s garden raised bed, it is doing great!

081013144155This is a simple 1 X 4 board box, but we put down newspaper first, then added about 4-6 inches of compost from my compost pile.  Everything in it is growing like crazy.

081013144204Look at this Marigold plant, I have never seen one that big.

081013144214The tomatoes are doing great, especially now that I thinned them out and staked them up.  There are many green tomatoes, just need a little ripening.

Sunday I had a very lazy day at home.  Michael was still very sore and taking some pain meds, so I stayed home with him.

#2  Cooking- I love to cook, and so I decided that I would do all the cooking this week.  I did an inventory of our kitchen, planned the menus, then did the shopping.  Laura gets the week off.  Now maybe I can talk her into baking a pie?

Monday morning for breakfast I decided to make waffles.  I took a few pictures so I thought I would share the recipes.  Look for a separate post Waffles recipe.

We were supposed to have sandwiches today for lunch, but we did not have any bread.  I don’t like store bought, so I decided to make some homemade wheat bread.  We use the best all natural ingredients starting with hard white wheat berries to make the flour.  I made a single batch and that will supply our bread for the week.  We saved out two loaves and put the others in the freezer.

081213160910APPLES-  We are so excited, because this is the first year in the four years living here, we have good apples.  We have a Granny Smith tree and a red apple tree, and they are both doing wonderful.  We don’t use any sprays, so they are all natural.

Apples = Apple pie!

081213201041And of course, you can’t have it without vanilla ice cream.

Apple pie ala modeI ended the day with some gardening and cooking checked off my list.

Maybe Tuesday I will do some local exploring?

About Lowell Lane

Food is my passion; I love to grow it, cook it, eat it, and share it with others.
This entry was posted in cooking, Desserts, Family, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

