Day 3 – Vacation 2013

PotatoesThese are Yukon Gold potatoes I harvested  from my garden today.  I have never had much success with growing potatoes, but this year I tried something a little different.

040613113638

My old neighbor used to just lay his potatoes on the ground and then cover them with 6 inches of straw.  He said that when the plant tops die, just uncover the straw and you have a ton of potatoes.

I thought I would try it, and I think if it had not been so wet, I would have had a great crop.

I will do this again next year.

By the way, these tasted awesome.  I simply heated my pan, melted some butter, and fried these potatoes.  Then I covered the potatoes with the onions until they are tender, then added some green beans.

Emily was not feeling well today, she had a fever and so the doctor says she had a virus.  We ended up with Emily not feeling well, Laura had a headache, and Amy said her throat was hurting.

Tomorrow will be a better day.

Leave a comment