Wood fired pizza oven

I have wanted a wood fire pizza oven for a long time, so today I built one.

102613121232I found a video of a simple design on Youtube, so I thought I would try it.

I had all the supplies here at the house.

1. clay brick

2. angle iron from old bed frame

3. scrap wood to make a door

Here is a video to let you see the finished product.

First, I laid down 7 bricks wide and then 4 bricks deep on top of my existing brick top.

Second, for the side walls I layered one brick on it side on both sides, and then one layer of bricks on end to make the side walls.

Third, the back wall.  I made a two layered wall with 2 bricks deep for extra strength.

Fourth, I made a door.  I had some old lumber from a counter top and I cut a small piece of it off the end and it was perfect.

102613141910Then I cut 6 strips of angle iron from an old bed frame to lay across the top of the bricks to support the bricks for the ceiling.

Next I started a fire.  It took about 2 hours to get a fire hot enough to cook with.  I would suggest getting a thermometer so you can test it before cooking.

Here is a look at cooking the pizza.

The finished product.

102613142141The other thing that is really awesome about this oven is the fact that if I want to move it or take it down and redo it, I can.

I am very pleased with the result and can’t wait to have some friends over for a, “make your own pizza” party.

102613142212

About Lowell Lane

Food is my passion; I love to grow it, cook it, eat it, and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Baked Goods, cooking, DO IT YOURSELF and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wood fired pizza oven

  1. Pilon says:

    Hi .. i see you have a great post ! i hope you could make another one like this .. keep posting then How to build a pizza oven .

  2. timmichael says:

    This is really great work Keep it up Today I am searching about wood fired pizza ovens and how to make wood fired pizza oven I see your site this is really great and very beneficial for all person.

Leave a Reply

