Cooking breakfast with what I got on hand!

It is a cold winter weekend here in Missouri. I woke up this morning to 4 degrees F and did not want to get out of bed because it was so nice and warm.

I thought while everyone else was sleeping I would make something for breakfast. We need to go to the store so there was not much to work with, so I took inventory. We had a lot of apples because Laura got them on sale. UMMMM? What to make?

I found a recipe for Caramelized Apple Pancake online from Jenny Can Cook.

caramel-apple-pancake

Everyone in the family really liked this.  It was very easy and I had the ingredients but I only had 3 eggs so I could only make a single batch which serves 2… I was serving 5.

I decided to make something else with apples because I knew this would just be a taste for everyone.  I looked around the kitchen and saw we had almost full container of oatmeal , so I started creating.

 

Baked Caramel Apple Oatmeal 

caramel-apple-oatmeal-2

Photo by Amy Lane

3 Red Delicious apples cored and cut in 1 inch cubes

5 T butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 t Cinnamon

1/4 t Nutmeg

5 cups water

3 cups oatmeal

1 pinch salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Bring water, 2 T butter, and a pinch of salt to a boil.

Cut apples into 1 inch cubes.

In oven safe skillet or cast iron skillet melt 3 T butter and 1/2 (up to 1 cup) brown sugar till caramelized  and bubbly.

Add apples and cook for 5 minutes.

Add oatmeal to boiling water and stir well.  Cook on medium high for 5 minutes until water is absorbed and oatmeal is ready to serve.  ( follow package directions)

Add oatmeal to caramelized apples and stir well.  Place in oven and bake for 15-20 minutes till browned on top.

caramel-apple-oatmeal-1

Photo by Amy Lane

 

Let this set for about 5 minutes then sprinkle with powder sugar.

caramel-apple-oatmeal-3

Photo by Amy Lane

The only thing this needs is a cold glass of milk!

Enjoy…. we did.

 

 

 

 

No Rules

About Lowell Lane

Food is my passion; I love to grow it, cook it, eat it, and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking breakfast with what I got on hand!

  1. Helen Badman says:

    Looks yummy! Love hot breakfasts on these cold winter mornings!

Leave a Reply

