OOOH! I GOT TO HAVE THAT CAR!

1979 Cad Coupe Deville
I was telling my kids a story from when I was in high school. My dad owned an automotive collision, wrecker, mechanical, and radiator shop. We did everything related to fixing cars. Once in a while, the Sheriff’s department would have auctions to sell off old cars that had been impounded. One day my dad drove back to the shop with this old junky, rusty Cadillac that he bought for $100.00. I asked him what he was going to do with that old thing, and he said he was going to make it like NEW again. I said, GOOD LUCK! Guess what, I ended up helping to strip that car down and fix it!!!
I found this picture of a 1979 Cadillac Coupe Deville that looked just like the one my father fixed up. My father drove that car for about 2 years, and during that time my Grandma, his mother, stole it from my dad and drove it a lot.
One Saturday my dad told me to clean up the Cadillac because he had a hot date. I cleaned it up and got it all ready to go, then parked it in front of our shop. At 5:00 pm, as we were closing the shop, and this man walked in the door and said, “Whose Cadillac is that out front?” My dad said, “Mine Why?” The man said, “OOOH! I GOT TO HAVE THAT CAR!” My dad smarted off and said, “If you lay $5,000.00 cash on the table, you can have it!” You should have seen the look on my fathers face when he did. We never saw that man or the car again!!
About Lowell Lane

Food is my passion; I love to grow it, cook it, eat it, and share it with others. As a business consultant I also enjoy seeing my clients succeed.
This entry was posted in Cars, Family, Lowell's Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

