Fried Chicken – Tips and Tricks

Fried Chicken – Love it!

I started a cooking class and one of my students asked if I was going to fry chicken. She said she had problems with the crust falling off.  I have a few tips and tricks to share.

  1. Buy a whole chicken.  Whole chickens are less expensive, and you get the best quality meat.  Cut up a chicken?  Yes.  I will post about it next.
  2. Make sure chicken is cleaned and patted dry.  Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Want moist chicken? Use a brine.
    •  2 cups water, 1 cup sugar, 2 cups kosher salt.  Dissolve salt and sugar.
    • Immerse chicken in brine and refrigerate for 12-24 hours.
  4. Remove chicken from brine and pat dry with paper towels.
  5. Season flour with salt, pepper, and other spices you like.
  6. Coat chicken pieces in flour and put on baking sheet and Refrigerate for 1 hour.
  7. Put 2 inches of oil in cast iron skillet and heat oil to 350 degrees.
  8. Crack 2-3 eggs and whisk with a fork then dip chicken pieces in egg.
  9. Dip chicken in flour mixture for a second coating, coat well. Shake off excess.
  10. Cook chicken till golden and internal temperature is 165.
  11. Drain on paper towel.

Serve with mashed potatoes and chicken gravy.

GRAVY:

Drain excess oil.  Put equal part oil and flour in pan and make a rue. Stir with whisk and cook flour till golden. As soon as this makes a paste, add milk.  Start with 2 cups and add till desired thickness.  Cook till gravy boils stirring constantly.

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Fried Chicken – Tips and Tricks”

  1. My fried chicken is the worst! Lol counting on your expertise to save my ” bacon”! Lol btw… what do ya do with the eggs you just beat? Flour….then egg…. then more flour? Thanks Bud!!

    1. I double coat my chicken. I dip in flour and put in the refrigerator for 1 hour, then dip in egg, #9 flour a second time.
      Let me know how it comes out, and send a picture. Thanks Sid.

  2. Hi, Lowell! I wanted to ask you a question…after you crack and whip the eggs, is there a specific order you use to dip the chicken in the flour and eggs? I didn’t see where it says what to do with the whisked eggs, and I wasn’t sure. We have a friend who dips his in flour first, then the eggs, then the flour again…I usually just dip mine in a seasoned flour mixture, but I always skin my chicken before I fry it, so mine is different. I just wanted to see how you do yours. Thanks so much for these amazing tips!

    1. Thank Cheryl,
      I guess I forgot to explain that well, so I fixed the article. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. I dip the chicken in seasoned flour and then let sit in the refrigerator for 1 hour. Then take out the chicken and prepare the eggs, dip the chicken in the eggs, and then dip in flour again. Hope this works well for you. Let me know and share a picture.

Leave a comment